Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Data Logger
05-11-2012, 05:02 PM
Post: #1
Data Logger
What data logger do people use over testing periods? So that you know if you are getting big ambient temp / rh swings?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-22-2012, 01:02 PM
Post: #2
RE: Data Logger
How bout that new Datamaster......

Is the Datamaster going to be Orange? Is someone there Syracuse fan, or of the Order Of Orangemen? Will we be indoctrinated into mass effect of The Orange? And we shall all wear orange shirts. LOL

Stephen Perrera dba
Top Floor Installation Co.
http://www.tucsonazflooring.com
http://www.floorsavior.com
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-22-2012, 07:09 PM
Post: #3
RE: Data Logger
The only ones I have ever used are HOBO's. Stick them on the side of a cabinet or something and retrieve them to download data. They can be set up to record nearly any time frame of information.

I haven't seen the Datamaster yet.

JD Grafton
Concrete Answers for Flooring Problems
[email protected]
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-24-2012, 01:16 PM
Post: #4
RE: Data Logger
I'm very tempted to get one of these: http://www.dicksondata.com/products/TP125 but the HOBO's seem a much better price! http://www.onsetcomp.com/products/data-l...ed-sensors

I'm actually talking about logging ambient conditions. Because we have heard that the above slab humidity and temp can affect rh in the slab I feel I have to pay attention to where the RH/Temp in the room is going to have an idea if the Rapid RH number is accurate or artificially high/low from the ambient above slab conditions.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-24-2012, 05:27 PM
Post: #5
RE: Data Logger
(05-24-2012 01:16 PM)eaadams Wrote:  I'm very tempted to get one of these: http://www.dicksondata.com/products/TP125 but the HOBO's seem a much better price! http://www.onsetcomp.com/products/data-l...ed-sensors

I'm actually talking about logging ambient conditions. Because we have heard that the above slab humidity and temp can affect rh in the slab I feel I have to pay attention to where the RH/Temp in the room is going to have an idea if the Rapid RH number is accurate or artificially high/low from the ambient above slab conditions.

Oh heck, I've had one from Radio Shack for years that I sometimes hide on sites. The ones that you can link up to your pc are better.

Stephen Perrera dba
Top Floor Installation Co.
http://www.tucsonazflooring.com
http://www.floorsavior.com
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-28-2013, 08:40 AM
Post: #6
RE: Data Logger
So you guys leave these devices on the job site and these devices record high and low ambient RH levels over the 72 hour period? Where do you leave the device? I wouldn't think that it is feasible to have one device at every test location. Also, these devices probably need to be in an open room, not left inside a closed cabinet or closet?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-28-2013, 09:43 AM
Post: #7
RE: Data Logger
And what about logging data in renovated spaces where there are perhaps 10, 15, or 20 rooms? Many of which can have fluctuating ambient conditions???

I don't have any type of data logging equipment even tho I know I should. Maybe I've just been lucky that when I have asked for the space to be held at a consistent level during the 72 hour test period, the GCs have always been cooperative.

JK Nixon
Concrete Restoration Services, LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
http://www.rhtester.com
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-28-2013, 09:59 AM
Post: #8
RE: Data Logger
(03-28-2013 09:43 AM)CCR Wrote:  And what about logging data in renovated spaces where there are perhaps 10, 15, or 20 rooms? Many of which can have fluctuating ambient conditions???

I don't have any type of data logging equipment even tho I know I should. Maybe I've just been lucky that when I have asked for the space to be held at a consistent level during the 72 hour test period, the GCs have always been cooperative.

Maybe it is just the way things are run here in Atlanta, but I rarely get the conditions I am supposed to get at time of testing. GC's freak out when you tell them you need to wait. Many times I am threatened with losing the project.

Aren't people so reasonable?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-28-2013, 10:38 AM (This post was last modified: 03-28-2013 10:41 AM by CCR.)
Post: #9
RE: Data Logger
When they insist I test when conditions aren't ASTM compliant, I go ahead and test anyway (reluctantly), but make sure I place emphasis on ambient site conditions, ASTM requirements, and include a disclaimer on potential changes in RH (never predicting % shifts) and how RH will "likely" change when space is operational, and possible risk to the installation over time. That's about all I can do to cover myself.

But what amazes me is that people don't take proper testing seriouslyHuh somehow thinking that even though the flooring manufacturers instruct everyone to conduct moisture testing they don't care if it's not done by the books. And who do you think is going to be the first to say, "Moisture failure?? Sorry Bud, you didn't adhere to ASTM testing specs, so no warranty for you!! Like I have said before...a dry substrate is every bit as much of the building envelope as the water proofing of walls and roofs. It ain't rocket science, and you still can't fix stupid! I think I need a bigger baseball bat for knocking sense into peopleBig Grin

JK Nixon
Concrete Restoration Services, LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
http://www.rhtester.com
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


[-]
Share/Bookmark (Show All)
Facebook Twitter Linkedin Technorati Digg MySpace Delicious