Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Bad Sensor
11-07-2012, 04:36 PM
Post: #1
Bad Sensor
Anyone ever hear of a sensor not working? I got my new 4.0's and reader. Did 3 testes for a company thats having issues with an epoxy floor. The reader would not read one of the sensors. I even vacuumed it out, it still would not read. All I got was the two -- lines and no reading.

Can I get a refund? Cool

Stephen Perrera dba
Top Floor Installation Co.
http://www.tucsonazflooring.com
http://www.floorsavior.com
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-07-2012, 07:46 PM
Post: #2
RE: Bad Sensor
Ernesto:

You just bought a new kit with the new black instertion tool correct? How much force did you have to exert to install the sensor? Probably a stupid question but you did try to take readings a few different times correct? As Wagner always does, if there is an issue, we will rectify it. Let me know the answers and we will go from there.

Jason
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-08-2012, 07:16 AM
Post: #3
RE: Bad Sensor
Dodgy Black insertion tool did not come with this, I already have the black box, it's not the total kit with box, just the senor pack and reader. I used my white tool. You mean there is a pressure limit on these, like, I cannot hammer it in, or stomp on it with my foot?

What is the difference between these two tools?

Yes, I tried taking readings several times, rotated it etc.

Stephen Perrera dba
Top Floor Installation Co.
http://www.tucsonazflooring.com
http://www.floorsavior.com
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-08-2012, 10:55 AM
Post: #4
RE: Bad Sensor
Ernesto:

When we came out with the latest 4.0 EX version, we also made improvements to the insertion tool. It is now longer and has three steps in diameter. The tool is now meant to be utilized as a "go no-go" guage for the hole diameter as well as inserting the sensor. Knowing that not all drill bits that claim to be 3/4" are 3/4", we wanted to make it easier for customers to verify proper diameter prior to sensor installation.

I'm out of the country until Tuesday and I will call you and get you taken care of then.

Jason
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-08-2012, 05:56 PM (This post was last modified: 11-08-2012 05:59 PM by Rubensgt40.)
Post: #5
RE: Bad Sensor
So this means the 4.0 comes with a new insertion tool? I purchased a starter kit and some extra sensors down here from Shaw Group and I got the little note saying that the old tool was not to be used, but no new tool. It says its a 4.0ex...

And of course I should perhaps check things before posting...

So the new insertion tool is this black thingy inside the vacuum extension. I thought it was an extra vacuum extension.... [Image: facepalm-gesture-smiley-emoticon.gif]

Pat Atherton
Floor Test Australia
www.moisturetesting.com.au

Our beer is not expensive, just less cheap.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-08-2012, 08:30 PM (This post was last modified: 11-08-2012 08:40 PM by Ernesto.)
Post: #6
RE: Bad Sensor
I got no note saying the old insertion tool was not to be used. It is not in the new literature either. Although the new literature mentions the new black tool, it does not say NOT to use the old white one.

Here is the new black insertion tool. http://www.wagnermeters.com/product.php?...ry=1&id=10

I really cannot fathom why that new one is needed more so than the old insertion tool seeing that the interior and exterion dimensions of the senors are the same as the old ones. That said, it looks like the initial part of the new insertion tool is the same width as the old insertion tool untill it gets past the length of the sensor. So question is, "How could one check the width of the hole if your only going 1.5 inches deep?"

Perhaps these senors are more sensitive to pressure than the old ones? That can be an issue.

All mine went in realtively easy. Maybe too easy as I hit bottom pretty quick. The newer drill bit I am using has only done like 20 or so holes.

Here is a good shot of the number 1 hole. It's the number 2 hole I had issues with so I did not record it. Do you see anything wrong with it?


Attached File(s)
.jpg  fairfield 007.JPG (Size: 66.92 KB / Downloads: 6)

Stephen Perrera dba
Top Floor Installation Co.
http://www.tucsonazflooring.com
http://www.floorsavior.com
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-08-2012, 10:44 PM
Post: #7
RE: Bad Sensor
@Rubensgt40 When we initially came out with the 4.0 EX, our thought was NOT to use ANY installation tool. Unfortunately, not everyone uses a "true" 3/4" drill bit so installation proved to be challenging for some people. We then, as a intermediate step, started populating kits with the "old" white insertion tool. Once the new black insertion tool was completed, we stopped populating kits with the white ones and began populating kits with the black ones. These just make it fool proof for easy installation since many either use drill bits too long or drill bits that don't drill a true ANSI spe'd 3/4" hole. Talk to Shaw and between the two of us we can get you taken care of on this.

@ernesto The tool is appoximately 9" long. The first step is approximately 1 1/2" (for the actual sensor insertion) and the next step (the "go no-go" section) is roughly 3 1/2". Being able to have that seond step slide into the hole makes all of the difference in the world with respect to ease of installation. Having turned many slabs of concrete into swiss cheese, utilizing many different manufacturer's drill bits this last year, we found that even if you could only verify hole diameter at the the very top of the hole, this is where the problem starts and usually carries through the entire depth. Your drill bit only having 20 holes on it had a lot to do with your success.

Jason
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-09-2012, 06:33 PM
Post: #8
RE: Bad Sensor
But the second step will not go into a 1.5 inch hole. Perhaps if the opposite end was the test step?

Stephen Perrera dba
Top Floor Installation Co.
http://www.tucsonazflooring.com
http://www.floorsavior.com
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-10-2012, 01:11 AM
Post: #9
RE: Bad Sensor
So I was right the first time- I don't have the new insertion tool. I've triple-guessed myself. No worries, I'll talk to Shaw.

Pat Atherton
Floor Test Australia
www.moisturetesting.com.au

Our beer is not expensive, just less cheap.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-10-2012, 08:43 AM
Post: #10
RE: Bad Sensor
I guess I'll have to order one....sigh Undecided

Stephen Perrera dba
Top Floor Installation Co.
http://www.tucsonazflooring.com
http://www.floorsavior.com
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


[-]
Share/Bookmark (Show All)
Facebook Twitter Linkedin Technorati Digg MySpace Delicious